top of page

Food Classification


The NOVA classification system groups all foods according to the nature, scale and purpose of the industrial processes to which they are subject. These are physical, biological and chemical techniques used after separating food from nature before consuming it or otherwise processing it into food.

The NOVA classification system divides all foods and food products into four groups:

GROUP 1 | Unprocessed and minimally processed food

GROUP 2 | Processed culinary ingredients

GROUP 3 | Processed food

GROUP 4 | Ultra processed food


The NOVA classification is recognized by the FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) at the United Nations and has been the subject of numerous studies on the harmfulness of ultra-processed foods to human health.

More info at:

bottom of page